top of page

DBT and CBT 

DBT, or Dialectical Behavior Therapy, has been used to help people learn and utilize skills to improve how they experience life. The four core areas of DBT are: mindfulness, emotion regulation, distress tolerance, and interpersonal effectiveness, (see below). CBT, or Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, consists of talk and behavior therapy based on changing thinking patterns. CBT is helpful in identifying cognitive distortions, to then evaluate them in reality, versus holding onto these distortions and struggling to cope.

I have utilized DBT and CBT in various settings, including eating disorder residential and PHP/IOP levels of care, as well as in school-based mental health programs. I have led DBT and CBT groups for adolescents and adults, both teaching and practicing the skills with the clients. I bring DBT and CBT into my individual therapy sessions when applicable. I enjoy teaching and practicing these skills with clients, working to help incorporate them into daily life.

Quick Breakdown of DBT Core Areas:
Holding Hands

Mindfulness - this simply means being present with your emotions, thoughts, behaviors, and urges. Mindfulness is to acknowledge what is happening in this moment. 


Emotion Regulation - this refers to learning to manage and accept your negative and overwhelming feelings, and to decrease emotional suffering. It is important however, to know that this is not "getting rid" of your emotions.


Distress Tolerance -  this is a specific group of skills that focus on tolerating situations that cannot be changed. Distress tolerance skills help you self-soothe and cope in the moment.  

Interpersonal Effectiveness -  this is all about how we communicate with others. Interpersonal effectiveness skills help you improve the quality of your relationships and interactions, ask for what you need, and hold boundaries.

bottom of page